SC12 logo  

7th Parallel Data Storage Workshop

held in conjunction with
Supercomputing '12


General Chair: Carlos Maltzahn,
University of California, Santa Cruz

Monday, November 12, 2012
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center
Room 255-B
Salt Lake City, UT

SC12 Workshop Web Page


Peta- and exascale computing infrastructures make unprecedented demands on storage capacity, performance, concurrency, reliability, availability, and manageability. This one-day workshop focuses on the data storage problems and emerging solutions found in peta- and exascale scientific computing environments, with special attention to issues in which community collaboration can be crucial for problem identification, workload capture, solution interoperability, standards with community buy-in, and shared tools. This workshop seeks contributions on relevant topics, including but not limited to:

  • performance and benchmarking
  • failure tolerance problems and solutions
  • APIs for high performance features
  • parallel file systems
  • high bandwidth storage architectures
  • wide area file systems
  • metadata intensive workloads
  • autonomics for HPC storage
  • virtualization for storage systems
  • archival storage advances
  • resource management innovations
  • storage systems for big data and analytics
  • and incorporation of emerging storage technologies.


8:55am - 9:00am
Welcome - Rob Ross, ANL
9:00am - 9:45am
Keynote Speaker - Eric Barton, Intel
Fast Forward Storage and I/O
Abstract & Speaker Bio | Slides
9:45am - 10:15am
POSTER SESSION 1 - List of participants and links to posters
10:15am - 11:45am
Chair: Dries Kimpe, ANL

Discovering Structure in Unstructured I/O
Jun He (Illinois Institute of Technology)
John Bent (EMC)
Aaron Torres (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Gary Grider (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Garth Gibson (Carnegie Mellon University)
Carlos Maltzahn (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Xian-He Sun (Illinois Institute of Technology)
Speaker: Jun He
Paper | Slides | pptx version including video

Compressing Intermediate Keys between Mappers and
Reducers in SciHadoop

Adam Crume (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Joe Buck (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Carlos Maltzahn (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Scott Brandt (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Speaker: Adam Crume
Paper | Slides

Towards Dynamic Scripted pNFS Layouts
Matthias Grawinkel (University of Paderborn)
Tim Süß (Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz)
Gregor Best (University of Paderborn)
Ivan Popov (Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz)
André Brinkmann (Johannes-Gutenberg University Mainz)
Speaker: Matthias Grawinkel
Paper | Slides

11:45pm - 1:15pm
Lunch (not provided)
1:15pm - 2:45pm
Chair: Matt Curry, Sandia

IOPin: Runtime Profiling of Parallel I/O in HPC Systems
Seong Jo Kim (Pennsylvania State University)
Seung Woo Son (Northwestern University)
Wei-keng Liao (Northwestern University)
Mahmut Kandemir (Pennsylvania State University)
Rajeev Thakur (Argonne National Laboratory)
Alok Choudhary (Northwestern University)
Speaker: Seong Jo Kim
Paper | Slides

SAN Optimization for High Performance Storage with
RDMA Data Transfer

Jae Woo Choi (Seoul National University)
Dong In Shin (Taejin Infotech)
Young Jin Yu (Seoul National University)
Hyeonsang Eom (Seoul National University)
Heon Young Yeom (Seoul National University)
Speaker: Jae Woo Choi
Paper | Slides

A Case for Scaling HPC Metadata Performance through

Swapnil Patil (Carnegie Mellon University)
Kai Ren (Carnegie Mellon University)
Garth Gibson (Carnegie Mellon University)
Speaker: Kai Ren
Paper | Slides

2:45pm - 3:15pm
POSTER SESSION 2 - List of participants and links to posters
3:15pm - 4:45pm
Chair: John Bent, EMC

An Evolutionary Path to Object Storage Access
David Goodell (Argonne National Laboratory)
Seong Jo Kim (Pennsylvania State University)
Robert Latham (Argonne National Laboratory)
Mahmut Kandemir (Pennsylvania State University)
Robert Ross (Argonne National Laboratory)
Speaker: Seong Jo Kim
Paper | Slides

DataMods: Programmable File System Services
Noah Watkins (UC Santa Cruz)
Carlos Maltzahn (UC Santa Cruz)
Scott Brandt (UC Santa Cruz)
Adam Manzanares (California State University, Chico)
Speaker: Noah Watkins
Paper | Slides

A Case for Optimistic Coordination in HPC Storage Systems
Philip Carns (Argonne National Laboratory)
Kevin Harms (Argonne National Laboratory)
Dries Kimpe (Argonne National Laboratory)
Robert Ross (Argonne National Laboratory)
Justin Wozniak (Argonne National Laboratory)
Lee Ward (Sandia National Laboratories)
Matthew Curry (Sandia National Laboratories)
Ruth Klundt (Sandia National Laboratories)
Geoffrey Danielson (Sandia National Laboratories)
Cengiz Karakoyunlu (University of Connecticut)
John Chandy (University of Connecticut) <>
Bradley Settlemeyer (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
William Gropp (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Speaker: Dries Kimpe
Paper | Slides

4:45pm - 5:15pm
Short Announcements followed by Town Hall


Robert Ross, Argonne National Laboratory (PC Chair)
Ahmed Amer, Santa Clara University
John Bent, EMC
Yong Chen, Texas Tech University
Matthew Curry, Sandia National Laboratories
Garth Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University and Panasas Inc.
Dean Hildebrand, IBM
Dries Kimpe, Argonne National Laboratory
Bill Kramer, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
   University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Xiaosong Ma, North Carolina State University
Carlos Maltzahn, University of California, Santa Cruz (General Chair)
Narasimha Reddy, Texas A&M University
Brad Settlemyer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Galen Shipman, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Matthew Wolf, Georgia Tech
Sage Weil, Inktank


John Bent, EMC
Scott Brandt, University of California, Santa Cruz
Evan J. Felix, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Garth A. Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University and Panasas Inc.
Gary Grider, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Peter Honeyman, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor,
   Center for Information Technology Integration
Bill Kramer, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
   University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Darrell Long, University of California, Santa Cruz
Carlos Maltzahn, University of California, Santa Cruz
Philip C. Roth, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
John Shalf, National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center,
   Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Lee Ward, Sandia National Laboratories