pdsw-DISCS 2016:

1st Joint International Workshop on Parallel Data Storage & Data Intensive Scalable Computing Systems

held in conjunction with SC16

monday, November 14, 2016
Salt Lake City, UT

Program Co-Chairs:

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

General Co-Chairs:

Carnegie Mellon University

Texas Tech University

PDSW and DISCS workshops merging

April 7, 2016

We are pleased to announce that the first Joint International Workshop on Parallel Data Storage and Data Intensive Scalable Computing Systems (PDSW-DISCS) will be hosted at the 2016 ACM/IEEE Supercomputing Conference (SC’16). This workshop proposal is a joint effort and an outcome of intensive discussions from two successful workshop communities within SC in the past a number of years, the Parallel Data Storage Workshop (PDSW) and Data Intensive Scalable Computing Systems (DISCS). The objective of this joint workshop effort is to combine two overlapping communities and to better promote and stimulate researchers’ interactions to address some of most critical challenges for scientific data storage, management, devices, and processing infrastructure for both traditional compute intensive simulations as well as and data-intensive high performance computing solutions. Read the full proposal outlining the merger here.


  • TBA


  • John Bent, EMC 
  • Ali R. Butt, Virginia Tech
  • Yong Chen, Texas Tech University
  • Evan J. Felix, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Garth A. Gibson, Carnegie Mellon University 
  • William D. Gropp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Gary Grider, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Dean Hildebrand, IBM Research
  • Dries Kimpe, KCG, USA
  • Jay Lofstead, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Darrell Long, University of California, Santa Cruz 
  • Xiaosong Ma, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
  • Carlos Maltzahn, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Robert Ross, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Philip C. Roth, Oak Ridge National Laboratory 
  • John Shalf, National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center, 
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 
  • Xian-He Sun, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Rajeev Thakur, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Lee Ward, Sandia National Laboratories